Former FSF Scholar Launches a New Hybrid of Accessories Design + Mentoring

YMA FSF scholarship winner turned accessories designer Sahar Pari-Rokh expands her company, Freedom Star, into a fashion-based mentoring resource for high school students. This is her story:

“As an independent student, the YMA scholarship helped me with the basic essentials: rent and food.

“When I applied for the YMA scholarship, Freedom Star was just a line of hand-made scarves. As I completed my bachelors in Marketing at LIM College, Freedom Star blossomed into a multi-faceted organization: Accessories. Consulting. Mentorship.

“Freedom Star Accessories is my creative outlet, and what I like to call my “bait” to gain the attention of high school students I mentor through my fashion-based programs. In a matter of three semesters, Freedom Star Mentorship has offered real-world experience to nine high school students. They have earned over 30 school credits in English, history, or math for maintaining positions in either Fashion Show Productions, Fashion Magazine or Build a Brand programs. You can see video and pictures on the Freedom Star fan page.

“When I”m not designing or working with my students, I consult small businesses and help non-profits with grant writing and events. The latest event Freedom Star is coordinating is a reading and Q&A with Pulitzer Award winning author Junot Diaz on March 31st. One of the most enjoyable events I’ve planned was Unity Ball featuring Dancing With The Stars‘ Edyta Sliwinska.

“I’ve really enjoyed my journey with Freedom Star and feel fortunate that I am a YMA recipient. YMA really helped ease the stress of meeting life’s basic needs, and I was able to learn and mold Freedom Star into what it is today.”

– FOF

Leave a Reply

  • YMA FSF

    31 W 34th Street, 10th Floor NY, NY 10001
